CMMC Knowledge, Tools, and Readiness for Government Contractors

In early 2020, the US Department of Defense (DoD) released the first version of the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC); a standard for all DoD contractors to implement. Before it’s launch, contractors were responsible for the security of their IT systems and any sensitive information that their systems stored or transmitted. Now, the adoption of CMMC requires third-party assessments of their compliance, including mandatory compliance with particular practices, procedures, and competencies. The goal of CMMC is to level-up cybersecurity across all DoD contractors, as well as demonstrate that each vendor has the ability to meet increasing and evolving cyberthreats.

CyLumena - CMMC Overview

CMMC Overview: The Basics

By 2025, all DoD suppliers will need CMMC certification. The level of certification needed depends on the level required by and listed in the types of Requests for Proposals (RFPs) that your organization wins by bid.

According to the CMMC Accreditation Body’s (CMMCAB) timeline, the go-live for commercial assessments and CMMC accreditation is Winter/Spring 2021. Training criteria is slated for release in fall, 2020.

The CMMCAB shares a variety of overview information on their FAQ page including:

  • The initial implementation of the CMMC will only be within the DoD. At this point, no other Federal, non-DoD contracts require CMMC.
  • CMMC relates to NIST in that CMMC Levels 1-3 encompass the 110 security requirements specified in NIST SP 800-171 rev1, plus other practices in specific instances.
  • The CMMC model possesses five levels, and each level consists of practices and processes as well as those specified in lower levels. This is different from NIST SP 800-171.
  • CMMC, also, assesses how an organization institutionalizes their cybersecurity processes.
  • An organization can pursue CMMC certification by working with a CMMC Third Party Assessment Organizations (C3PAOs) and individual assessors.
  • CMMC will establish a marketplace where approved C3PAOs will be listed.
  • A CMMC certificate is valid for three years.
CyLumena - CMMC Levels

CMMC: Achieving the Level Required to Win Contracts

CMMC Levels ChartThe CMMC combines cybersecurity standards and best practices into five levels, each of which has a set of required processes and practices.

To bid on a contract a DoD vendor must achieve maturity Level 3 and many contracts require higher levels of CMMC.

While the government provides a CUI System Security Plan (SSP) that covers the 170 cybersecurity processes and procedures, most vendors will struggle to successfully achieve the required CMMC level to bid and win the contracts they pursue.

CyLumena- CMMC Assessment

CyLumena is a Powerful Ally to Strengthen Cybersecurity and Accelerate CMMC

CyLumena’s CMMC Readiness Assessment pinpoints which CMMC Level best fits your target contracts, identifies gaps to meet your desired level of certification, and provides a recommended roadmap to resolve security gaps. Optional Gap Mitigation and CMMC Preparation services work to resolve security holes and blind spots, as well as ensure you’re ready to submit for formal CMMC certification.

Our CMMC Readiness Assessment is different from others because it offers a prescriptive fee structure that allows you to pay per control.  This allows us to pinpoint the level of effort you need. Moreover, our approach conforms easily to your budget and timeframe to achieve the Level of certification that meets your contracting goals.

And, because of our partnership with Gradient, we offer an MDR solution that supports compliance with 60% of all CMMS controls. Gradient’s Security Intelligence platform covers the full spectrum of cybersecurity, from identification, protection, detection, response and recovery required to meet CMMC Level 3 and above. New CMMC Readiness Assessment clients can request a free trial of the Gradient Security Intelligence platform.

CyLumena - CMMC Timeline

CMMC Timeline

CMMC Timeline

Act Now to Assess Your CMMC Readiness and Prepare for Certification

Bid and win higher-level contracts that require advanced cybersecurity response and resiliency capabilities. Even with just a few cybersecurity resources in place, most organizations can fast-track to Level 3 certification and beyond.
Contact Us